Exploring the Services Offered with NDIS

With so many different kinds of people requesting support, the NDIS is required to be a complex and far-reaching body. It is this need that can make the kinds of support it actually delivers unclear and occasionally confusing. In general, the supports and services the NDIS organises for participants are intended to help with their specific disability. This means they’ll be enabled to share the same goals as everyone else, such as having somewhere to live, a job, a few hobbies and the pleasurable company of families and friends. In this blog, we examine how the NDIS enables this quality of life assurance by further exploring the services that are offered for Australian people with disabilities. 

Services provided by the NDIS

NDIS services are by design far reaching, as there is a considerably wide disability spectrum to cover. Basically, those seeking assistance will choose supports related to their personal goals, and are then individually allocated a budget based on these goals. Participants are then able to choose what they want to spend their funds on – there is no structure in place, allowing for much-needed freedom of choice. Supports and services for participants are positioned into one of three categories: core, capital and capacity building. The core category includes supports designed to help participants complete daily living activities, the capital category includes investment supports (such as money for assistive technologies or equipment modifications to their home or vehicle), or funding for capital costs (such as money for specialist disability accommodation). Finally, capacity building supports enable participants to build their independence and skills. Supports will not be funded, however, if it is not related to a participant’s disability, if it is identical to other supports provided under different funding through the NDIS, if it relates to daily costs of living that are unrelated to a participant’s disability support needs, if there is any potential to cause harm to the participant or those around them, or if the support can be better delivered by another system, such as health or education.

The NDIS support categories

In order to use these services, participants receive funding in their plans. They are then able to allocate finding to certain categories to help achieve their unique goals. Support categories are comprised of a series of supports and services, which are included in the NDIS Price Guide and Support Catalogue and referred to as ‘line items.’ The NDIS describes these supports as falling into 15 categories, with each of these categories being explicitly aligned with the goals of participants purpose. They are as follows: assistance with daily life, transport consumables, assistance with social and community participation, assistive technology, home modifications, coordination of supports, improved living arrangements, increased social and community participation, finding and keeping a job, improved relationships, improved health and wellbeing, improved learning, improved life choices and improved daily living​. Each of these categories is then made up of a variety of supports which the NDIS includes in its price guide and support catalogue. 

Understanding NDIS support categories

Although the many categories supplied by the NDIS can b overwhelming, they are instrumental in helping participants choose the right kind of service for them, which in turn helps them to better achieve their goals. If you’re unsure what category would suit the needs of yourself or a family member, the health support worker network of the NDIS works well to help in instances just like your own.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *